But once it's granted, the app can auto-update in the future and use more of that permission set.
I don't think I've changed my settings from the default and for me at least (Nexus 5, Lollipop) if an app has the same permissions set, it will update automatically, if it requests more it will prompt me to agree.
So even if the use of the permissions is innocuous now, it's bad news for the future to grant it.