This is just blatantly false... the setting to disable the feature works after you've restarted Dropbox, just as the UI tells you to. Proof: https://twitter.com/ummjackson/status/782387668713771008/pho...
I'm toolbar free and it was a very minor inconvenience - not worth a rant-filled blog post like this.