Back in 2004 during the first months of Facebook, I deleted my account. When I signed up again a few days later, everything was still there with profile picture and everything.
[Updated: fix year FB was launched]
[Updated: fix year FB was launched]
There's also a hidden link in the support pages somewhere that's supposed to actually delete your account (which is what's linked here)