For me and my of my customers, having your "entire cloud deleted" is like... the #1 nightmare scenario.
So why does this capability/function even exist for active accounts at CloudFlare? It sounds like the OP fell victim to what is essentially a regular process.
Or to put it another way: No amount of explanation or assurance is ever going to make me feel comfortable with my doctor having a handgun as one of his medical instruments.