My understanding is Dropbox used to first hash file, then see if a copy was already uploaded. That was removed as it was being used for piracy.
Does Dropbox still upload everything, even if the user has uploaded it before?
Does Dropbox still upload everything, even if the user has uploaded it before?
How's that work? Somehow modify the client to say that you have a file with a user-provided hash even though it doesn't actually exist on disk?