Not sure where you're getting this from my post, but that is false. I actually deleted it, did not log in again during the "grace period" where they will just reactivate it, and my new account I created was initially empty (no profile data, friends, message history, you name it).
Sorry, I misread.
What usually happens is that those people have you on their contact lists, which they uploaded to Facebook to find more friends.