The interesting thing is the failure mode if you don't agree to continuous tracking. Google uses the last place it was allowed to track you to instead of allowing the user to specifically enable a location update for "near me" queries to maps or the assistant. It may not be meant as one but it feels like a dark pattern, particularly when you can tap an icon to update your position in maps but any "near me" requests still go back to the last tracked location.