They very likely do. On the M: and Z: drive.
As far as I can see this is just IT saying “if you stored your data somewhere you shouldn’t have, it’s now gone”.
But of course they can’t say that, so instead they have to help people recover from their mistake.
Or maybe the mistake was thinking people would actually do what you told them instead of whatever was more convenient.