The alternative (as in, current reality) is "Whoops. I hit ctrl+entry while copying my secret and no-one noticed for a month. Guess all our data is leaked now!"
It's also up to each provider what actually happens when the "revoke" action is triggered. Maybe they just warn you immediately, which is still better than nothing.