Not necessarily. Seems a smart way to get developers to verify their account and run through the app creation process.
That's exactly what it is. Looks like it will be live for everyone next week. Once you make the change and publish it, however, it's only available to other Dev-enabled FB profiles to see. Everyone else still sees the old profile.