Yes, but the same action of "transfering data" of an employee who has left the business was achievable with a couple of clicks previously. It was built into the deletion of a user. It was an option to say "Transfer this data to another account".
I'm not sure what this archiving feature is. The Support agent didn't suggest such an option. Will try, thanks.