No it isn't. It's not wrong to notify users of changes, and the notice resides on the same area occupied by the previous navigation tool so as far as those coming from the older design are concerned no extra screen space was used.
The notice disappears after you navigate away then come back or even reload the page so it's obviously not a permanent thing.