Since when did you have to wipe your phone to enroll it in MDM? You don’t even have to wipe it if you unenroll, and that would certainly be more important since the phone could have downloaded sensitive content in that time.
This thread explains the difference between enrolling and supervising and is pretty clear that enrollment does not require a wipe.
https://www.reddit.com/r/Intune/comments/yd7mo5/do_you_need_...