Yes, it's bad, and yet another example of a very public, beloved and well used service by Google being "improved" away by some PM to get that promotion, thereby making it worse, with no option for a user to even revert back to the old design (lest they challenge the SV-career man's assumptions that 'It's better this way!')
Google is by and far the bigget culprit at this tactic, and it's getting very, very tired. I hope the team responsible for this change reads this: You made one of your best products harder and more inefficient to use.