Thanks for your openness. I must admit to being slightly amazed that Google would add an irreversible-delete-button to a consumer facing app, without appropriate warnings and whatnot. Is that just an oversight, or is it by design?
We used to have a "restore all settings" button that would fix this (among other things), but it disappeared in the preferences UI rewrite and though I've agitated for it to come back, it hasn't.