It’s actually quite clever: Release an ‘update’ to everyone - even free users.
Then ‘roll back’ to the real version - but only for paid users.
Imagine how much worse it’d have gone if they called it GPT-4o lite and gave that to free users only and kept 4o for paid only.
Maybe it will make more people subscribe?
But it will make people cancel their subs too - I miss o3