Often not, because as I said in what you replied to:
> The affected users usually have no control over the situation
The affected users are usually on devices controlled by others or on their own devices connected through networks controlled by others: at work, in schools, in libraries, etc. The affected users and the those configuring the "new site" block (or leaving it on by default) are not the same set in many cases.
My work users such a filter, there is nothing I can do on their laptop to get around it¹, though my phone newer connects to their network so I can just look at things that way if I care to.
--------
[1] OK, there are things I could do, but they would be an abuse of the admin level access I have on the machine, because some things needed for my job don't work properly without that, and it isn't worth that arguement if noticed!