> The feature branch's commit history is preserved in the repository (thought not in the master branch)
This would require you not to get rid of the branches (remotely and locally), right? GitHub does allow you to undo the deletion of a branch, but is that only for a certain time period?
I like to delete my branches as soon as they've been merged in.