Ask HN: Browser Gmail signon newly prompts for Google Chrome account access?
This morning, I sign on. Instead of routing to my Inbox, I am sent to an intermediate page prompting me -- sorry, I've forgotten the exact language -- to allow/integrate Google Chrome access to my Google account. There are buttons for 'Yes' and 'Skip', and links to 'Tell me more' and "Advanced Settings".
Mistakenly, and expecting the 'Tell me more' to be typical, minimal and simplistic language, after hesitating I click on "Advanced settings", hoping to gain better insight into what this involves.
Instead, I'm routed to my Inbox, with a pop-up stating that bookmarks, settings, blood type, genome, etc. will now be synchronized. Um... NO!
Fortunately, it includes an "Undo" button, that I immediately click (I can already hear the sound of my data being sucked into Google's maw).
My BIG mistake for not simply clicking "Skip" at the prompt, and/or taking the time to confirm that the 'Tell me more' link was indeed going to be kind of useless. (I guess the caffeine was still in the process of kicking in.)
Looking through my account settings, I see there is a setting that gives Google Chrome "full access", and that this is still set. I don't know whether this persists from this most recent experience I've just described, or whether it was pre-existing. There's no 'Tell me more' link by it. Is it for e.g. notifications in the Chrome browser, or is it still allowing Google to -- via my browser -- "read my mind"?
Further, has my data already been "absorbed" as a result of this morning's action? Is there anything I can do -- beyond the "Undo" button I described -- to actually and/or further undo this?