Apple can do both. Either remain (without updates or new users) or remote uninstall on every device (generally used for malware).
Has Apple ever done this or said they could?
Technically, it would obviously be possible, but I don't remember Apple doing it.
My understanding is that when an app is pulled, it's usually still available for download if you had already bought it; but they have removed even that ability in a few cases.