Absolutely. It was a sudden, rash, and frankly insane response to a long-standing and well-known issue with shared links. (All simple 'secret-URL' implementations of shared links have the exact same problem).
As a Dropbox for Business customer, the lack of notification was completely unacceptable. A service that costs us thousands of dollars a year cannot do this to us -- we are re-evaluating our (my, sigh) decision to go with Dropbox.
They get partial credit for quickly offering more options -- they responded to my infuriated email ("Subject: Are you insane? Turn my links back on!") on the day of the clusterfuck within 16 hours with an offer to re-enable all of our links.
But still, the damage (to their reputation, in my company's eyes) had been done.
If I was on a free 2GB personal account, I would be like 'urrrgh, but whatever', but on a $3600/year 'business' account, you can't just unilaterally do shit like that with no opt-out or workaround available.