You have a three-column view with the local version on the left, the merge in the middle, and the changes on the server on the right.
Then you can pick and choose which changes to include and which ones to revert, and their locations are all marked with red and green colors on the sides (of the columns).
I assume that's what you meant, and I don't remember ever having to "opt in" for that functionality.
Btw, it's possible that the people on #java were all using Eclipse :)