I did too!
I can understand why they do it, but it seems like a very hill-climby optimization.
This was basically my first interaction with them and it engendered a lack of trust in their product.
I filled out the minimum amount of info in my account and don't intend to use them much going forward, mainly given how creepy I found this interaction.
edit: phrasing