Worse, if you ask around most people are unsure what happens to the original file when you delete an hard link.
there is no "original file": hard links are just synonymous names for a single blob. rm / unlink essentially just reduce a reference counter and the storage gets freed when the counter drops to zero.
I know that, most users don't.
Actually everyone use hard links. They just don't use multiple hard links to the same file.