As far as I understand it, there's three account states you can be in:
- Active = Normal - Deactivated = Deactivated/Not In-Use/Asked to deactivate - Deleted = After asking for deletion, wait (don't log in) for a period of 60? days and your account is deleted.
In my particular scenario, I downloaded my data, went through deletion, waited the period and then confirmed the account was deleted (5y ago).