To ask the obvious: once a user shares their data, isn't the genie out of the bottle?
Seems like there is nothing to stop a service from perpetually storing all data that is shared with them once. In the long term, this would negate any benefit enjoyed by users since users who share their data no longer have "full control" over it (to use the verbiage found on the site's Users page).