I don't think any GUI move items before a confirmation, so I don't see the link at all.
To rephrase:
> mv dir .old-dir && rm -r .old-dir &
it's how most GUI desktops “delete” stuff, they just run the two actions separately
It's kind of a stretch anyway since the core idea of the command was the final `&`
Hmm, the best I can find, no OS does this by default although all of them are capable of doing it.
Once the file is in the recycle bin, it will probably be months before final deletion happens, and windows will not ask before doing so.