What exactly happens when you do this? Do we get the old (sane, pre-Lion) behavior back, or does it just disable versions leaving everything the same (which is worse)?
For TextEdit you additionally have to disable autosave so you don't get error messages:
defaults write -app textedit AutosavingDelay -int 0